Going Home With Girls


Berlin, Germany
Izaio Models
Briony Ridley
Hair & Make Up
Britta Tess

How did you get into modelling?

I was scouted the first time in Auckland, New Zealand, while doing “a year abroad” when I was 15 years old. Unfortunately, it was just before I was going to return to Düsseldorf, Germany.
Back home I was also asked several times, but I decided not to pay too much attention to it and just go to school.
When I moved to Berlin last year to start university, I thought ok, now you should try it, otherwise you will be too old and regret it. So I sent some pictures to different agencies in Berlin and Izaio was the fastest to respond. They were determined that they wanted me which was very appealing to me.

What has been the most exciting “modelling moment” so far in your career?

I would probably say to walk the show for Comme des Garçons last season in Paris. It was my first season and everything was just really exciting!

You live in Berlin now, but what do you love most about your hometown?

I come from Düsseldorf, which is quite a contrast to Berlin. It is much smaller and cleaner than Berlin. I would say that Düsseldorf is a beautiful city. People dress nicely and you have everything you need there. It doesn’t take to long to get from one place to another and even though it is quite small compared to Berlin, it is still seen as culturally important. I love, for example, that most of the important temporary art exhibitions are located in this city or nearby.

Best and worst parts of moving out of home?

The best part of moving out of home is that I live in an exciting metropolitan city and am able to meet new and interesting people all the time. It feels like the world opens up for you. Berlin is constantly changing and you can feel this pulse.
For me the worst part is that I do not see my family that often. Especially my little brother, who goes to boarding school in England. We’re not always able to find matching dates where we both have free time.

If you could have any pet in the world, what would you choose?

I don’t know if I would want to have a pet because I love travelling which is quite hard if you have a pet that you are responsible for.

Favourite thing to do in the winter?

Going for a walk in the forest when there is snow! Everything is very calm, relaxing and just beautiful. Winter is my favourite season, especially the time around my Birthday, Christmas and New Years. I also love going to Christmas markets with my friends or siblings.

If you could invite one person to dinner at your apartment, who would it be?

This is a very hard question as I’d want to have dinner with someone I find interesting and who I could have a great conversation with. Someone important who works in the fashion industry or art business, but there are too many I want to meet.
On the other hand I might be a little embarrassed to serve my own cooking =)

Describe your current favourite outfit/style?

My current style is something in between boyish, edgy, cool and elegant and chic. For example I love to wear black leather boots, very skinny, dark Jeans with a wide T-Shirt I got from my brothers closet, or a transparent black blouse, a long necklace and lots of rings. Most of the time, the colours I wear range between black, grey, blue and white.
I love the collections from Alexander Wang, Rick Owens, Rag&Bone, Balenciaga, The Row and Acne.

Questions from Camilla

What is your biggest wish?

To travel the world and be successful at what I do.

If you had the chance to live in your favourite city, which one would it be?

At the moment, New York or London. These are both cities full of energy and creative people!

Favourite movie?

“The Boat That Rocked”. Great music and lots to laugh about!

What did you hate most as a child?

I hated tidying up my room and wearing tight neat clothes I thought didn’t suit me.

Alexis was photographed and interviewed in November 2012.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *